Today I (re)watch, Gilmore girls, 1.16

Here is a summary for today’s episode: Stars Hollow is having a festival to commemorate its founders. Everyone in town is annoyingly cheesy and in love. Rory and Dean are having their three-month anniversary. Luke has a special visitor coming back to town.

SPOILER ALERT. I have seen all the seasons before, so I am reviewing retrospectively. SPOILER ALERT.

In this episode, once again, Lorelai is me. So many times in my life I have felt like everyone is heterosexually coupled all up in my face and it has been very annoying. Loneliness hurts but sometimes it is other couples being all mushy and gross that makes you want to commit murder. Poor Lor, she has had a lot going on in her life and she misses Max. I know the feeling.

hate and loathing

Ahhhh, Rachel. She is ridiculously good looking. Like, it is not fair. They (Lor and her) should both date Luke. They’d be amazing. I mean, isn’t she supposed to be an open-minded, adventurous person? But, then again, it is kind of douchey of her to just show up and expect him to move everything and take her in. She is like Chris that way. Miss Patty and Sookie mention like 3 episodes ago that Rachel left 5 years before, and they send each other post cards? That’s rough. No wonder Luke finds it hard to move on. It just makes no sense to me that she would not even call.

Whatshisface: So, Lorelai, are you a member of the DAR?
Lorelai: No, I am not. D-A-R-N.

No one in the grandparents’ house appreciates Lorelai’s humor. It is very sad. That blind date set-up guy was so so boring, insufferable, and annoying. And so very creepy. When she escapes through the window though, that is television gold. And the way Richard and Lorelai are both super done with Whatshisface and Richard lets her escape. I feel sad that Richard and Lor don’t talk their issues out more, because I think they would get along. There is a lot of love and it is just a lot of baggage that keeps them apart.

I have purposely not talked much about Dean and Rory’s anniversary thing. Because, barf. But also because the way Dean flips his shit when Rory doesn’t say ‘I love you’ is just totally unacceptable and emotionally abusive and I just cannot fucking deal with him. So what if she is not ready to say ‘I love you’? Shouting at her and being all condescending and making her feel guilty about it is not the way to go. It makes you a douchebag.

Guh. I just want Dean Forester to disappear forever.

Ta-dah. Thats my review. Dean should disappear forever.

2 thoughts on “Today I (re)watch, Gilmore girls, 1.16

  1. Pingback: Today I recap: Gilmore girls, season 1 | Amaneceres Líricos

Leave a Reply

