Today I (re)watch: Gilmore girls, 2.02

I am mostly excited ’cause we are a few reviews away from Jess.

First, a summary: Lorelai is getting ready to get married, and Emily is underwhelmed when her daughter announces her engagement. Rory feels she is behind on extra-curricular activities for college and Dean makes it all about him because why would he not. Lorelai has her engagement party. 

SPOILER ALERT. I have seen all the seasons before, so I am reviewing retrospectively. SPOILER ALERT.

Rory: When are you gonna tell them (Emily & Richard, about the wedding)?
Lorelai: Soon.
Rory: When’s soon?
Lorelai: When the big hand hits the “s” and the little hand hits the “oon”.

Following from the last episode
I am glad Richard apologizes profusely for being a horrible person to Dean and to Rory last friday night dinner. Richard loves Rory so much and he thought he was doing the right thing by weeding out the weakling that is Dean but that is not up to him to decide so I am glad he saw that. Even if he apologized in part per Emily’s request.

But as one drama ends, another one begins. Lorelai should have probably told her parents sooner about the engagement, but I understand why she waited. I understand Emily’s hurt feelings but this family needs to get better at healthy, open communication. Being passive-aggressive and telling your daughter that you hope you’re in town for your daughter’s wedding is not the way to solve or confront anything. Being like, “Hey, you think you could have told your parents?” would have been better. Which eventually happens, but only after a Gilmore-classic shouting match.

It makes me infinitely sad that Lorelai didn’t even consider that something was up – that Sookie had told Emily about the engagement and that’s why Emily was passive-aggressive and awful – because she has such a strained relationship with her mother that that reaction is not entirely surprising to her. I don’t think either of them (Emily or Lor) realize how much they do love and care about each other. Which is why actually communicating would do everyone in this show some serious good.

Lorelai: I told my mother about me getting married and it was slightly ugly.
Luke: Yup. There’s nothing like a wedding to screw up a family.
Lorelai: In my case there’s nothing like a family to screw up a family.
Luke: Something that’s supposed to start nice, two people making promises to each other. “I love you forever, I wanna die when you die. My life meant nothing until you used my toothbrush.” And then it starts…
Lorelai: Well…
Luke: “Who’re you gonna invite, who sits where, open bar: yes or no, Auntie Junie doesn’t eat chicken, Uncle Momo is off his meds…”
Lorelai: Junie and Momo?
Luke: Just an example.
Lorelai: Of a retired circus couple?
Luke: And then after all that planning, the reception will still be a disaster because no matter what you do or how carefully you plan it, halfway through one of those nauseating Bette Midler ballads, someone’s getting drunk, someone’s sleeping with someone else’s wife and someone’s chicken Kiev is landing on the cake.
Lorelai: You know, the Gettysburg address was only one page long and that was about a war. 

Have I mentioned how I love this show’s dialogue a lot? And Luke’s grumpy-puss rants give me life.

The road to Harvard
I understand that Rory is overreacting, and it is true that it would not kill her to start her extracurriculars the next day, but Dean is being a self-absorbed doucheface. He is, once again, the fucking worst. His girlfriend is stressed out that she is “10 years behind on extra-curriculars”, she is really anxious that that might get in the way of her dreams because want it or not, Dean, she is not your Donna Reed trophy wife, jerk, and here he is being all manipulative with his “I thought you wanted to spend time with me but I guess you don’t love me that much” crap. If you can’t deal with your girlfriend having ambitions and other things to think about other than your ridiculous face, you should perhaps date your simpleton friend Todd. Or your left hand. It’s not Rory’s fault that Dean’s life is so bland that Rory is the only potentially interesting part of his week. Dean is, once again, a manipulative, clingy, immature crybaby.

dean tumblr text post

[Rory, Rory, Rory. Your comment was horrible. You need to find a ret*rded kid? Get out.]

But why does Rory apologize? Dean is the only one that needs to apologize. Dean is right for the first time ever, he was an idiot and she has nothing to be sorry about. My annoyance at Rory for apologizing too much and not standing up for herself enough is a constant throughout the series. I think it’s, again, ’cause I see myself in her.

Lane is leaving forever and…
I cannot, will not ever, get over the fact that Rory seems too chill about her best friend possibly leaving forever. That was a missed opportunity for exploring more of their friendship in the show. Maybe even have some flashbacks to them growing up together. It would have been amazing! At the end of the episode when Rory is with Dean and Lane is leaving in her van… I can’t help but think of Love & War & Snow, when Rory puts Dean before Lane as well. Rory is so disappointing in her friendship with Lane. I would have thrown her a party, bought her presents, wrote her a song, followed her mother to the airport. Fuck Dean, fuck Chilton, fuck building a house. My best friend always comes before all the things. And Lane seems to come last after any other thing on the planet, for Rory. D i s a p p o i n t i n g.

The monologue at the very very end when Lor apologizes to Emily for not telling her about her engagement hits home so so bad. “I don’t know how to tell you things. I don’t know if you’ve noticed this or not but we don’t communicate very well. When something good happens to me, I am afraid you’re gonna make me feel bad about it. When something bad happens to me I’m always afraid you’ll say ‘I told you so’. I’m not sure that is always fair. I’m sure I share part of the blame for this circle we get into, but you think your words don’t have any effect on me, but they do.” DAMN.

Leave a Reply

