Today I (re)watch: Gilmore girls, 2.18

This one’s alright. I hadn’t noticed I was kind of close to the season ending. And the following episodes are an avalanche of feelings. So enjoy the relative calm in this one.

So, Richard helps Rory with a business project, loses it a little, and decides he wants to de-retire. Meanwhile, Rory is starting to realize Dean is a doormat, which only makes him more clingy and weird. Michel’s mom visits. 

SPOILER ALERT. I have seen all the seasons before, so I am reviewing retrospectively. SPOILER ALERT.

Okay so I am half-way through with not a lot to report. This episode is mostly to carry along some plot points: Richard’s retirement, Rory slowly pulling away from Dean. Here are some points though!

– Paris has binders for the business project! It makes me think of how similar Paris is to Leslie Knope. In every way. Such beautiful creatures, the both of them. Imagine Leslie mentoring Paris? Or April poking fun at Paris for being so intense? I am having feelings about another TV show in the middle of this TV show. I have to stop now.

– I love that Lorelai is reading a Motley Crue book that sounds super gross and excellent.

– 14 messages is a lot. Especially if you have dated for a while. Does he not know that as soon as she gets home she can see ONE message and call him back? Or maybe he thinks she won’t call him back? All because Jess was eating with Rory and Paris? SERIOUSLY? Boys are so fragile.

————-Lorelai: That boy could make a good drinking game.

– While I mildly resent the fact that Lorelai thinks Dean is a great guy (maybe she doesn’t know of how jealous and possessive and gross he gets? My mom sure didn’t know about the abusive parts of my relationships), her advice for Dean – to give it time, give it space, to not call 14 times in 3 hours, or show up out of nowhere to clean Rory’s car while she gets home – is good advice. What does he do? HE GOES UP AND WAITS FOR RORY OUTSIDE HER HOUSE. I feel bad for him (or not him, I don’t care about him, but about an ‘A’ caring more about ‘B’ than ‘B’ cares about ‘A’, in any scenario), I do, but, c’mon. Take a chill pill. Also, not calling you every 10 minutes like you do does not equal “liking Jess”. (Spoiler: I know the show is leading us that way into the disaster that is the last few episodes of this season, and the following season, but, c’mon.)

– Sookie’s outbursts at the wedding invitation people (that apparently lasted the entire episode) are supposed to be cute but the yelling is super awful and rude. Not cool.

– I love that Michel’s super nice and fluffy relationship with her mom is based on lies. I mean, it’s awful, but it is just funny that that’s how they manage to get along: by not talking about true stuff.
Michel: Well, you know what happens when you assume.
Lorelai: What?
Michel: I don’t know. Something about a donkey. It’s a stupid American phrase.

I had no idea what this talked about the first 5 times I saw it. It was until I came here to Canada that I finally heard the phrase and went OOOOOHHHHHHH. Nobody knew what the hell I was OOOHH-ing about. It was like an epiphany, and then everything made sense.

– Why is the Gilmore way to always, always, make a scene? I think it is priceless when Lorelai suggests a psychiatrist. She should know better than thinking the Gilmores would admit they need help.

psychiatrist1

psychiatrist2

 

Whooop. That’s it. NOooo wait. Edit.

The episode ends, like an episode ago, with the La La La music on Dean’s pouty face, and Lorelai worried about Dean’s feelings. EEEEEEEWWW. That is all.

One thought on “Today I (re)watch: Gilmore girls, 2.18

  1. Pingback: Today I recap: Gilmore girls, season 2 | Amaneceres Líricos

Leave a Reply

