Today I (re)watch: Gilmore girls, 3.15

This is a hilarious episode.

Rory and Lane go to a hockey game, where they run into Dean. Emily catches Trix with a man. Jess has little clue how to boyfriend.

SPOILER ALERT. I have seen all the seasons before, so I am reviewing with future events in mind. SPOILER ALERT.

Jess didn’t call
Honestly, it’s not super cool not to call, but it’s rather sad that she can’t just call him, or make other plans, or just chill. I guess it’s what she did, chill. He could have called on a break at work, but there are a million things that could have prevented him. If it is such a big deal for Rory, she should use her words. One time of him not calling is not that big a deal. And instead of talking she gets all passive-aggressive. Good going. But I mean, good for Rory for going out anyway. Even if it is a hockey game.

It is true, though, that Jess assumed Rory was going to stay home waiting for him or something. “I’m not the kind of guy who lives by a schedule”? Psssht. Get a grip, James Dean. Like, I don’t know. They both need to talk, because she is expecting something that she isn’t talking about, and he doesn’t know how to boyfriend. While it is cool that Jess showed up after the game with concert tickets, that doesn’t solve the clearly different expectations and communication that they both have. I hope Jess did listen to his answering machine. Because “grand” gestures do not make up for shitty everyday things. Or they shouldn’t, at least.

Lane and Rory (and Lane’s fake boyfriend, Young Chui) are sportsing!

Why do people keep saying jealousy is cute? Jealousy is not cute. Adam Brody is, but his jealousy isn’t. He ran I don’t know how long just to check up on Lane? That’s creepy.
Dean has a girlfriend now, her name is Lindsay. That’s all I have to say about that, because I personally could not care less.
It has just occurred to me, that I have no clue how old Kirk is. He says at the end that by the next time the team gets into the semi-finals, he will be 70 years old. It had been 43 years since the hockey team had reached semi-finals. So he is 27? Huh.

Emily catches Gran (Trix) kissing a dude

x  x
x  x
The third gif is everything to me.

I can understand why Emily wanted to get back at Trix, even though it was not right. Honestly, Gran was always super abusive and condescending and mean to Emily for no reason (well, some ridiculous reason, which we find out about later, in episode 16 of season 4).
I am glad that Gran and Emily sort of talk at the end.

face off trix

The episode ends with Rory lying to her mom about hanging out with Jess, because she did end up being the girl who gets all angry in her head and then says nothing once the boy deigns to show up. Ah, Rory. I’ve been that girl multiple times too.

Next episode, we find out if Rory got into Harvard (and Princeton, and Yale.)

Leave a Reply

